Wrongrobot's Root: Robotic Links and Wrong Items

Wrongrobot's Root is the gateway for the Wrongrobot family of sites.
Each site can be viewed via the appropriate snappy banner to the left. Wrongrobot's Root is also home to Permanently Robotic Links, shown to the lower left, which are Wrongrobot's preferred site links and well worth your time to investigate. Wrong Items are news bits and corresponding links of some sort of topical nature. Also worth your time. If images or archive pages don't load, reload and see if that helps. If not, try again a little later. The Blogspot server has been wonky lately...

[Please note, for best viewing, your minimum browser window size should be 720 pixels wide; any narrower and the title banner will be pushed lower than it should be.]

Visit Us at R3!

 

Friday, March 18, 2005
We FINALLY are pleased to announce that M+R in it's current incarnation is closed. Visit our message board at R3 for new content every day, in all the super-duper subjects you've expected from this blog: film, TV and comics news and reviews from the M+R Staff, plus wrongrobot's robotic root and our links section. These, and more, have been folded into the R3 Forum, the message board for Third Rail Design Lab comic illustration site. Hope to see you there... and bring a delicious beverage so you don't dehydrate once you get sucked in...




So says...Wrongrobot!


self is: wrongrobot #

M+R Migration Underway

 

Wednesday, January 19, 2005
True Believers!
Robot Readers!
Monkey Minions!

It only LOOKS like we have been cheesing off.
In actuality, the new Monkey+Robot Reviews is nearly complete. Check back soon for a link to the new and improved site which includes, at the very least, more fatbits per minute. More fatbits!


We're about 75% finished migrating content over at the time of this writing. In the meantime, take a moment to review posts from our past that you missed the first time around. They're pretty much all solid gold. Pretty much.

-wrongrobot


self is: wrongrobot #

Moon Gas! Stop Laughing!

 

Sunday, December 05, 2004


Scientists have floated a new possible solution to the energy crisis.

"People find the phrase 'moon gas' utterly hilarious," revealed a planetary geophysicist who preferred not to be named. "Unfortunately, the word 'gas', which denotes the third state of matter, is also commonly used to refer to human waste emissions which are known for their embarrassing smell and sound. In addition, 'moon' implies the ceremonial lowering of pants to display the human buttocks area to humiliate a foe. Put the two words together and you've got humor dynamite.

"Every time we say 'moon gas' we get reactions ranging from titters to guffaws," the insider continues. "It's really unfortunate, because this moon gas could be a way to prevent human civilization from descending into the dark ages when our fossil fuel supplies run out in about 50 years. People need to stop laughing and get on the stick. Giggling a lot isn't going to run your washing machine."


So says...Wrongrobot!


self is: wrongrobot #

Gifts for the Serial Killer Who Has Everything

 



Drawings for young lovers.


Jim Woodring has been showcased here on Monkey+Robot before, as astute readers might recall (Frank animation, Pupshaw & Pushpaw animation) and now you can have a Woodring Weird Wrong product of your very own!

Sometimes I look at his stuff and feel very unoriginal. I am an envious robot.


So says...Wrongrobot!


self is: wrongrobot #

Godzilla Gets Nuff Nuff Respect

 


That woman is questioning her career choices right now.


Godzilla got a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.
Again, Mothra gets screwed.


So says...Wrongrobot!


self is: wrongrobot #

Postal 2 Banned in NZ Because it's Freaky

 


But Mom, it's just a game!


New Zealand has banned Postal 2. This has been picked up by several newswire agencies and it's been talked about like the first chink in the Perfect World armor of the small island nation. However, when you consider the game, really, can you blame them? I mean, the kids there are bored.
So says...Wrongrobot!


self is: wrongrobot #

Dateline Hollywood: Site of the Week

 

Friday, December 03, 2004

Meta-Media Makes me Sweat


Dateline Hollywood is the Onion of entertainment news sites. It is, in the parlance of our times, off the hinges.

Best article of the week:

Tom Brokaw reports on departing CBS anchor Dan Rather's report that Brokaw is leaving NBC






self is: wrongrobot #

Worst Chewbacca Toy Ever... or Secretly, the Best?

 


IronLung Calls for Chewbacca Toy Recall

IronLung has vehemently protested this toy. So outraged was he, that he threatened to embark upon a dangerous, touch-myself-softly fast until the product is recalled!

IronLung: This is the worst Chewbacca toy ever!

Wrongrobot: Fuck you, man! It's awesome! He's got a Yuck Mouth, cuz he don't Brush!

Iron Lung: Jeezus, man, he looks like a fucking homeless poodle that slept in his own shit! they just sucked every ounce of cool out of old chewie!

Wrongrobot: No, you missed the point. It's Ghetto-Fabuilous Chewie, complete with Vomit Beard and Crazy Eddie Do...

IronLung: I'll kill you while you sleep, you bald cur.

:::

Happy Holidays from Monkey+Robot!

So says...Wrongrobot!


self is: wrongrobot #

Disc Quota Exceeded My Robotic Ass!

 

Tuesday, November 30, 2004
Well, we here at Monkey+Robot Reviews woke up one morning, and unlike the sage words of Mr. Robert Nesta Marley, instead of thrrr little birds sitting on our power regenerator containment vessels, we found a DISK QUOTA EXCEEDED error on our server... so, until we recraft the site in a cyber-Biblical flood of fatbits, we must return to the long-dormant sub-sites of Monkey+Robot Reviews, namely Wrongrobot's Comic Stash and Wrongrobot's Root (the former hosting comics news and reviews and comic film buzz and the like... all good shit... and the latter hosting random wrongness and curious robotic oddities.) We have a heady backlog of block-rockin' bullshit in the entertainment reviews front, but we have to clear some space first... and by we, self means SELF. Meanwhile, IronLung is lurking outside the vault door, clickety-clacking at it in that sketchy ways untoward robots do when you lock them out of the lab.

CLICKETY CLACK!
[[[splifffffffff]]
"Bzzz... WHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEENEE"

There, he just rebooted after a recirculated exhaust purge.

On to the good stuff...



self is: wrongrobot #

Ever Wonder How they Transport Naval War Ship With Giant Sucking Holes in Them?

 

Friday, January 30, 2004


Check this out! So it sinks...shimmies under...and pops back up, and suddenly, the Cole is riding bareback. Please excuse the garish jingoistic soundtrack on the site...

USS Cole Transport





self is: wrongrobot #

[the] Caseworker to Play at Hemlock Tavern, SF Saturday 1/31/04

 



This great local band will be playing at Hemlock Tavern this weekend, and it's worth your cash money to check them out.
Hemlock Tavern
1131 Polk Street @ Post
San Francisco, CA 94109
(415) 923-0923

Hemlock Tavern in San Francisco


The band has received rave reviews from the notoriously tough critics at Allmusicguide.com:

"These Weeks Should Be Remembered marks a stunning debut from ex-Half Film experimentalists, Eimer Devlin and Conor Jonathon. Now calling themselves [the] caseworker with ex-Swell members Sean Kirkpatrick and Monte Vallier, Jonathon and Devlin weave threads of classic dream-pop and indie rock for a majestically layered sound. These Weeks Should Be Remembered, with its sparse guitar and vocal arrangements and floating bass lines, doesn't imitate the beloved shoegazer scene of the early 90s, for [the] caseworker carefully design a set of 10 beautiful songs that's refreshingly untested. Devlin's and Jonathan's twin vocals are wispy and soft; they keep their presentation to a minimum and that's what makes this particular album so powerful. [the] caseworker have found a sonic medium that's both blissfully charming and provocative, giving it an overall soothing, yet unharnessed, sound. Titles such as "Approaching the Coast" and "Revived" showcase the album's most obvious loveliness, an atmosphere both lush and florid. [the] caseworker clearly want to make the best music they possibly can without compromising their artistic vision. These Weeks Should Be Remembered is evident of their conscious desire to keep things simple.
It's simply gorgeous."

-- All Music Guide

For more info on the band: Manifesto Records: [the] Caseworker





self is: wrongrobot #

Nitpickers.com, Where The Ridges of Klingon Heads, and the Number of Shell Casings, are Closely Watched

 

Monday, January 19, 2004


I check this site every few weeks. It's a repository of movie and TV goofs and editing errors, sort of like a compendium of the Gaffes shown on the Internet Movie Database, but with a geek flair. Some shows, like Start Trek: Enterprise, are so wildly inconsistent with continuity errors that it seems pointless to pick out individual errors, as easy as it may be. But some astute observers have caught stage crew in frames, costuming errors, and plot logic inconsistencies in several films and less obtuse TV series. It's probably not the most important database on the Internet, but when you need to know ifScully did or didn't wear the same blouse twice, now you can find out.

The Nitpicker's Site



self is: wrongrobot #