Efficiency, sarcasm, and natty fur!

This monkey and this robot once had a system: three blogs for three subjects. But it was complicated and vague and usually ended in feces throwing. So we have combined all three into a melange of media reviews and links and excessive blather, so as to reduce the burden on your short attention span.

In the right column, Monkey + Robot have compiled for you a compendium of sassy, savvy and in the know media reviews and tidbits, for your time-wasting pleasure. And lest you poke at us with sticks or cut off our power supply, the reviews are now selectable through those perky drop-down menus. Monkey + Robot Film and TV reviews, Wrongrobot's Comic Stash, and more.

Grab a chunk of melon and some Demoral, because in the left column, we have accumulated for you every snappy link we found amusing, entertaining, provocatively witty, or frankly, just colorful, with easy to understand small words so monkeybites can follow along. Such is Robotic Root!

Entertainment Media Ratings System:

Wrongrobot's Robot Rating: 1-10 Clicks, more indicating a happier robot!

Monkeybites' Monkey Rating: 1-10 Ooks! More indicating a mouthful of rotting simian teeth and lips curled in monkey pleasure!

IronLung's Robot Rating: 1-10 Clanks! More indicating a red-eyed, slack-jawed, blissed-out, ride-pimped dizzy droid! [this is good]

Vicbot's Robot Rating: 1-10 Whirrs! More indicating data that computes well with others.

Google
WWW http://monkey-plus-robot-reviews.blogspot.com
Wrongrobot's Fantasy Film Casting:
Casting Batman: Year One
Casting The Losers
Casting Richard Zach's Pirate Hunter

:::

Film Reviews [M+R Review Rating, out of 10 Possible Clicks, or Clanks, or Ooks]

Adventures of Baron Munchausen: 8 Clicks
Aliens Vs. Predator: 1 Clank
Bad Santa: 9 Clicks
Ballistic: Ecks vs. Sever: 2 Clicks
Bend it Like Beckham: 8 Clicks
Bourne Supremacy: 10 Clicks
Bowling for Columbine: 8 Clicks
Bubba Ho-Tep: 8 Clanks
Cirque du Soleil- Allegria [stage]: 10 Clicks
Cold Mountain: 7 Clicks
Cutthroat Island: 2 Clicks
Elf: 8 Clicks
Equilibrium: 6 Clicks
Escape From Alcatraz: 7 Clicks
Finding Nemo: 10 Clicks
Girl With a Pearl Earring: 7 Clicks
The Graduate [stage]: 7 Clicks
Hero: 7 Clanks
House of 1000 Corpses: 5 Clanks
How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days: 5 Clicks
Hudson Hawk: 6 Clanks
The Hulk: 7 Clicks
Identity: 3 Clicks
Igby Goes Down: 5 Clicks
Intolerable Cruelty: 6 Clicks
I, Robot [trailer commentary][IronLung]
I, Robot [trailer commentary][Wrongrobot]
Kill Bill Vol.1: 10 Clicks
Kill Bill Vol.2 [IronLung]: 9 Clanks
Kill Bill Vol.2 [Wrongrobot]: 10 Clicks
The Last Samurai: 8 Clicks
LotR: Return of the King: 7 Clicks
My Architect: 9 Clicks
Original Kings of Comedy: 7 Clicks
The Phantom: 1 Click
Pirates of the Caribbean: 9 Clicks
The Punisher: 5 Clanks
Secretary: 9 Clicks
Shanghai Knights: 4 Clicks
Spellbound: 7 Clicks
Spider-Man 2: 8 Clanks/ 8 Clicks
Starsky & Hutch: 8 Clicks
Star Trek- Nemesis: 6.5 Clicks
Terminator 3: 5 Clicks, 2 Ooks
The Thin Red Line: 7 Clicks
To Live and Die in LA: 10 Clicks
Troy: n/a
Van Helsing: 4 Clicks, 0 Clanks!
Whale Rider: 8 Clicks

:::
Comic Film Adaptations News [Film and TV]:

Appleseed OAV 2004 6/18/04
Aeon Flux: 2/27/04
9/1/04
9/10/04
Akira Live-Action Film 9/29/04
Animated Batman 2004 9/2/04
Batman Begins: 2/12/04 2/19/04 2/24/04 3/02/04 3/03/04 3/04/04 3/08/04 3/9/04 3/17/04 3/19/04 3/31/04 TRDL Concept Illustration 4/3/04 4/5/04 4/12/04 TRDL Concept Illustration Part 2 4/12/04 4/21/04 4/22/04 4/23/04 4/23/04 4/29/04 5/4/04 Costume Critique 5/4/04 Script Excerpts 5/7/04 6/01/04 6/04/04 6/09/04 6/10/04 6/15/04 6/16/04 7/6/04 7/13/04 7/20/04 7/26/04 7/28/04 Trailer 7/29/04 7/31/04 8/2/04 8/3/04 8/4/04 8/5/04 8/8/04 8/10/04 8/12/04 8/17/04 8/20/04 8/24/04 8/30/04 10/19/04
Battle Angel Alita: 9/10/04
Black Widow 4/29/04
Blade 3: Trinity: 5/4/04 6/11/04
Catwoman: 2/18/04 5/21/04 Game Concept Art 5/21/04 6/11/04 Suckage! 7/29/04
Comic Adaptations 10/13/03
Constantine: 3/08/04 5/14/04
Dazzler?!? 7/7/04
Elektra: 2/19/04 3/29/04 4/23/04 5/14/04 4/29/04 5/4/04 6/10/04 6/18/04 7/1/04 7/2/04 7/6/04 7/29/04 9/20/04 10/13/04
Fantastic Four: 6/16/04 7/8/04 7/14/04 7/15/04 8/3/04 9/20/04
Ghost in the Shell 2: 9/18/04
Global Frequency: 6/15/04 7/16/04 8/17/04
Good Time For Comic Films! 5/14/04
Green Lantern?!?: 7/24/04 Koboshed 8/8/04
Hawaiian Dick: 4/21/04 Interview 4/22/04
He-Man: 10/11/04
Hellboy: 2/12/04 Interview: Del Toro 2/20/04
3/03/04 3/9/04 3/17/04 Personality Test 3/17/04 Figures Released 3/29/04 Toys Addendum 3/30/04 Choose the Next Figures! 4/21/04 Hellboy: An Introduction 3/30/04 Interview: Selma Blair 3/30/04
Interview: Spectral Motion 4/5/04 Caught On Film in '62! 4/21/04 Interview: Selma Blair, CafeFX 4/28/04 Hellboy Collaborator Medical Fund Auction! 5/4/04 DVDs 7/7/04 7/28/04 8/3/04 8/5/04 8/25/04 8/31/04 Hellboy 2: 3/29/04 4/8/04 6/03/04 8/27/04 9/1/04
9/14/04
Hulk 2? 5/4/04 9/7/04

Hulk Op-Ed 7/14/04
Iron Man: 3/03/04 4/23/04 6/10/04 6/28/04 9/14/04
8/2/04 8/10/04
Nick Fury: Agent of SHIELD 9/8/04
Preacher FX 4/29/04
Sin City: 3/19/04 4/04/21 4/04/29 4/05/19 5/21/04 6/01/04 6/11/04 7/1/04 7/26/04 7/28/04 7/20/04 8/11/04 9/15/04
Spider-Man 2: 2/18/04 3/29/04
Spider-Man 3: 5/4/04 5/14/04 6/10/04 7/13/04 Spider-Man 2 Game Screenshots 6/8/04 Spider-Man 2 [trailer commentary]
Superman: 5/21/04 6/03/04 6/09/04 6/10/04 6/28/04 7/1/04 7/13/04 7/14/04 7/20/04 8/5/04 8/10/04 8/27/04 8/31/04 9/10/04 9/15/04 10/19/04 [2] 10/19/04
Transformers: 9/10/04
Wanted 3/03/04
Watchmen: 4/4/23 4/7/24 7/24/24 8/12/04 9/10/04
Wolverine: 10/13/04
X-Men 3: 7/20/04 5/4/04 6/18/04 7/7/04 7/8/04 7/14/04 7/15/04 7/20/04 8/27/04 Aborted Sentinel? 9/2/04 9/7/04 9/15/04

:::
Film News, General:

A Scanner Darkly Film Adaptation
Akira: Kaneda's Bike in Production? 8/28/04
Aliens Vs. Predator: 6/2/04 Chess Set 5/26/04 6/8/04 Trailor 6/11/04 6/28/04 7/8/04 [trailer commentary] 8/5/04 8/8/04 7/15/04 8/12/04
Anchorman 7/13/04
Big Lebowski Day! 5/5/04
Bloodrayne 8/10/04
Bond? Who Bond? 8/3/04
Bourne Supremacy: 1/6/04 Trailer: 5/4/04 7/8/04
Cage Deserves Happiness 7/31/04
Clooney/ Tarantino in the News 10/15/03
Dodgeball 6/01/04
Domino 8/3/04
HEAT vs. R:HD: Dialog Analysis 10/22/03
Heat/ GTA III: Lawsuits Imitate Life 10/23/03
Incredibles 8/23/04
Jim White Documentary 3/23/04
Kill Bill 2 Poster 2/18/04
Kill Bill Interview: Uma Thurman 4/8/04
Kill Bill Vol. 3?! 4/12/04
The Life Aquatic 1/15/04
Matrix Explained? 8/31/04
National Treasure 8/4/04
Nowhere Man 7/26/04
Pierce is Bond No More 7/27/04
Sky Captain 7/15/04
Sky High 8/17/04
Soderberg Joins Che 4/5/04
Speed Racer: Vince Vaughn 6/25/04
Stealth 7/8/04
Summer 04 Films to Watch 4/22/04
Team America Puppet Porn 8/25/04
Transporter 2 6/16/04
Van Helsing: Van Helsing WHO? 3/16/04 Interview: ILM 5/5/04 Penny Arcade 5/18/04
Underworld 2 9/7/04
WB Kills ESC F/X 8/18/04
Will Smith Lexicon 5/18/04
Zatoichi: Blind Swordsman 6/25/04
No Mas James Bond
Miami Vice on the Big Screen

:::
TV Reviews, and the M+R Review Rating, out of 10 Possible Clicks, or Clanks, or Ooks

24 Season 3: 10/29/03: 8 Whirrs 11/5/03: 6 Whirrs 2/08/04: 7 Whirrs 2/12/04: 8 Whirrs 2/18/04: 8 Whirrs 2/24/04: 9 Whirrs 4/06/04: 7 Whirrs 4/26/04: 6 Whirrs 5/03/04: 3 Whirrs 5/11/04: 9 Whirrs 5/18/04: 8 Whirrs Finale 7/8/04: 3 Whirrs
Apprentice: Robin and Carolyn 4/16/04
ATHF and Space Ghost Links 2/25/04
ATHF: Revenge of the Trees 10/13/03: 8 Clicks The Shaving 10/27/03: 7 Clicks Super Trivia 9/22/03: 8 Clicks Battlestar Galactica 1/13/04: 3 Clicks
Carnivale: 9/22/03: 10 Clicks 9/30/03: 9 Clicks
Christopher Columbus: Secrets From the Grave: 3 Clicks
CSI: 8/11/03: 1 Ook 9/26/03: 5 Clicks CSI: Miami: 7/30/03: 1 Ook 7/31/03: 6 Clicks 9/26/03: 7 Clicks
Deadwood 3/24/04: 8 Clicks
Dinner for Five: 9/26/03: 7 Clicks 9/30/03: 7 Clicks
Ed: 9/26/03: 3 Clicks Series Finale 2/12/04: 7 Clicks
Emmy Nominations 04 7/15/04: 7 Clicks
Enterprise 10/13/03: 6 Clicks
Everybody Loves Raymond 9/26/03: 6 Clicks
Friends 9/26/03: 7 Clicks
Grammys: Outkast's Andre 3000 2/9/04: 10 Clicks
Law and Order Family: 9/30/03: 8 Clicks
Law and Order: 10/13/03
Law and Order: CI: 1/12/04: 8 Clicks
Marvel Comics Guide to NYC: 10 Clicks
Method and Red: 9 Clicks
MI-5 10/28/03: 10 Clicks
Mix It Up 1/12/04: 8 Clicks
Mr. Show: What to Think 9/10/03: 10 Clicks
Penn & Teller's Bullshit: 9 Clanks
Reno 911!: 9 Clicks 9/7/03
Space Ghost C2C: Baffler Meal: 11 Clicks! Flipmode 2/25/04:20 Clicks Survivor 7 9/19/03: 8 Clicks
Survivor All-Stars: 2/12/04: 8 Clicks 2/13/04: 7 Clicks Tour de France 2003 8/4/03: 8 Clicks
Will & Grace 9/26/03: 7 Clicks

:::
TV News

24/Law and Order/CSI "That Guy" Character Actor Tracker
24: Comic Adaption 3/25/04 Season 4 Casting 8/9/04
Amazing Screw-On Head Cartoon 4/8/04
Cigarette Smoking Man Action Figure 5/26/04
CSI: CSI in Comedy Culture 6/24/04 CSI's Peterson 2/18/04 Sick outs Everywhere 7/27/04
CSI: Miami Drinking Game 2/27/04 No Mas Rory Cochrane 8/9/04
CSI:NY: 3/8/04 3/16/04 Drawn Together 8/20/04
HDTV ScreenCap Archive 8/25/04
Jessica Simpson 10/21/03
Mastershake Speaks 9/7/04
Nike's Lance Commercial: Magnet 8/18/04
Law and Order: Trial by Jury Casting 6/04/04
NBC Hijacks TiVo 1/15/04
Simpsons' Shearer Balks 8/12/04
Survivor All-Stars Cast 1/12/04
Survivor 9 8/18/04
Robbery: Homicide Division Music 9/30/03

French Connection Made for TV


:::

Wrongrobot's Comics Stash- Comics and Sequential Art Reviews

Comic Reviews, and the M+R Review Rating, out of 10 Possible Clicks, or Clanks, or Ooks

Comics Reviews Intro
100 Bullets: 48: 7 Clicks
52, 53: 8 Clicks
9-11, Artists Respond Collections
Alias: 24-25: 10 Clicks 26-27: 10 Clicks 28: 9 Clicks
Astonishing X-Men: 2: 8 Clicks 3,4: 9,10 Clicks
Avengers: 500: 8 Clicks 502: 7 Clicks
Batgirl Year One TPB: 10 Clicks
Batman: 620: 5 Clicks 621: 7 Clicks
Batman: Long Halloween: 7 Clanks
Bloodstream 1: 1 Click
BPRD One Shots: 9/7 Clicks
Cla$$War: 4: 8 Clicks 5: 10 Clicks
Daredevil: 50-52: 9/3/5 Clicks 54: 4 Clicks 56: 9 Clicks 57: 7 Clicks
65: 6 Clicks
Domino:Perfect Weapon: 8 Clicks
Exiles: 30-33: 6/4/4 Clicks 36-37: 3/6 Clicks
Ex Machina: 2, 3: 7 Clicks
Global Frequency 11: 10 Clicks
Gotham Central: 10-11: 9 Clicks 13: 9 Clicks 16-18: 9 Clicks
Hellhounds 1-3: 7 Clicks
Human Target: 4: 9 Clicks 5-6: 8 Clicks 7: 8 Clicks
12, 13: 9 Clicks
Iron Man: 73-75: 8 Clicks 76: 2 Clicks 77: 5 Clicks 86: 9 Clicks
JSA: 51-52: 7/8 Clicks 53: 8 Clicks 54: 4 Clicks 56-57: 7 Clicks 58: 3 Clicks
League of Extraordinary Gentlemen 2: 3 Clanks, 8 Clicks
The Losers: Ante Up TPB: 9 Clanks 6: 10 Clicks 10-11: 8/10 Clicks
16: 10 Clicks
New Invaders 0: 3 Clicks
New X-Men: 144-146: 5 Clicks 149: 3 Clicks 151-152: 2 Clicks 153: 3 Clicks
[Renamed X-Men] 159-162: 4 Clicks
Paradise X: A: 9 Clicks
Planetary: TPBs (1-12): 8 Clicks 16: 5 Clicks : 8 Clicks 18: 9 Clicks
Powers: 33: 8 Clicks 36: 9 Clicks 37: 10 Clicks V2, 1: 10 Clicks
2-4: 10 Clicks
Pulse: 5: 7 Clicks
Queen and Country: 20: 10 Clicks 21: 10 Clicks 25: 8 Clicks
The Ride 1: 9 Clicks
Secret War 1: 8 Clicks
Sleeper: 8: 10 Clicks 11: 10 Clicks 12: 10 Clicks Sleeper Season Two: 1: 10 Clicks
Supreme Power: 1-2: 10 Clicks 4: 10 Clicks 7: 10 Clicks 8: 9 Clicks 11: 8 Clicks
Tokyo Storm Warning TPB: 5 Clicks
Ultimates: 12: 10 Clicks 13: 10 Clicks
Ultimate Fantastic Four 1-2: 7 Clicks 3: 8 Clicks
Ultimate Nightmare: 1: 10 Clicks
2: 8 Clicks
Ultimate Six: 1: 10 Clicks 4: 10 Clicks 6: 9 Clicks Ultimate X-Men: 36-37: 2 Clicks
Ultra: 2: 9 Clicks
Uncanny X-Men: 429-431: 4 Clicks 433: 2 Clicks 437-441: 1 Click 444-445: 5 Clicks 446: 6 Clicks
Wanted 2: 10 Clicks
We3: 1: 10 Clicks
Wildcats 3.0: 13: 7 Clicks 16: 7 Clicks 18: 7 Clicks
X-Statix : 2: 4 Clicks 13-15: 6 Clicks 18: 4 Clicks 19: 3 Clicks

:::
Friends of Robot: Artists:

FoR: 36Oh.net FofR: Enrico Casarosa
FoR: Terra Major's Horns of Hattin
FoR: Losstarot
FoR: Prometheus
FoR: Studio Kosen

Comic News:

Check the Film News section for updates on comic-related film adaptations! 100 Bullets FPS Game 4/2/04
Ale Garza on Batgirl 8/5/04
Amazing Screw-On Head Cartoon 4/8/04
Apparat Line: Warren Ellis 8/25/04
The Atomic Revolution Comic 3/23/04
Authority: Nguyen Interview 5/14/04
Authority OGN 7/20/04
Avengers 500 Preview 7/1/04
Brent Anderson on Pulse, Astro City 3/25/04
Batman Begins Costume Illustration [Wrongrobot]4/3/04
Batman: War on Crime 8/31/04
Bullseye Origin Series 6/28/04
Comics For Intellectuals 9/1/04
Decompression and Pacing 9/23/03
Dillon on Bullseye 9/7/04
Doc Frankenstein by Burlyman 9/2/04
Doc Ock Year One 6/16/04
Earth's Mightiest Mini 9/3/04
Ellis and Granov on Iron Man 5/25/04
Ellis Stream-a-Blog: Iron Man 7/31/04
Ellis Stream-a-Blog: Explodo 8/2/04
Ellis Stream-a-Blog: Bad Kids 8/27/04
Fox Sued over LoEG Script 9/26/03
Hawaiian Dick Bk 2 8/23/04
Hack/Slash book 2 6/18/04
Hal Jordon and Copyrights 8/20/04
Hellboy: An Introduction 3/30/04
IDW's 24 Comic 3/25/04
Iron Man Facelift 9/12/03
Iron Man 87 Outtakes 8/27/04
Joss Whedon Interview: Astonishing X-Men 8/10/04
JSA vs. JSA 8/12/04
League of Extraordinary Gentlemen 3 6/1/04
Marvel Vs. DC 8/31/04
Masamune Shirow 10/15/03
Micro-Heros Animated GIFs 4/6/04
Morrison on JLA: Hyperclan and Superman 6/1/04
Morrison's WE3 9/1/04
New Avengers 8/18/04
Nguyen Confirmed on Authority Vol.3 5/14/04
Nouvelle Manga Manifesto 6/11/03
Ocean 8/9/04
Orson Welles as Batman? 9/26/03
Phoenix Mini-Series 8/20/04
Poorly Drawn Animals 8/2/04
Remains: Niles/Dwyer Interview 3/12/04
Scurvy Dog: Yount Interview 1/15/04
SD Comicon Visual Oddities 7/31/04
Space Ghost 7/31/04
Spandex vs Leather 4/6/04
Steven Grant on 'Literature of Ethics'
The Losers: Diggle/Jock Interview 3/11/04
The Picture of Everything 1/15/04
The Question: Rick Veitch 9/1/04
The Question: Tommy Lee Edwards 9/2/04
Teddy Roosevelt From Mars 8/20/04
Tom Coker: Batman in Monolith 8/30/04
Tony Harris Pages from new Iron Man Arc
Ultimates: Bryan Hitch Interview 9/12/03
Ultra 8/18/04
Watchmen Remembered 8/12/04
WizardWorld LA Promo Art 3/22/04
WonderCon 2004 Buzz 8/13/04
WonderCon 2004 Buzz 2 8/17/04
WonderCon 2004 Dance-Off 8/18/04
Worlds Finest Film 7/26/04
World's Finest Interview 8/4/04
Young Avengers 8/20/04
Identity Crisis Covers
Honey Moon, The Ride, Rex Steele, Shirow, Megacity909
Comic Preview: Intimates, Iron Man
TSR Illustrator Terminally ill
Twinkie Comics, Avengers Dissembled Toy-style
Interview: Mark Millar of Ultimates
Interview: Cliff Chiang of Human Target
Star Trek Manga Anthology from Tokyopop
Pop Mahn to TokyoPop
Granov Iron Man Preview Pages
Image Comics Moves to Berkeley

Links: Ode to Adult Swim: Space Ghost and Aqua Teen Hunger Force
2/25/2004


I've said it before and i'll say it again: most of the episodes of these two shows are underwhelming given the potential for hilarity, but every once and awhile, they're not only good, they're GREAT. And in a few cases (SG: Flipmode, Baffler Meal; ATHF: Moonites, Ole Drippy) they make my kidneys hurt. Sometimes I feel like a good detox after watching the more obtuse episodes, like Simpsons can sometimes be, but a scale factor more stoney and wierd and wrong. Here's some random links and fun stuff related to these tip top shows:

-Here's a somewhat outdated FAQ (2000) on the Space Ghost project, with ots of production details. Space Ghost/ Cartoon Planet FAQ

-How about a flash-based game where you must protect a headless Carl from instant death by forcing Meatwad into various protective shapes?

Headless Carl flash game

-Have you heard about the new Aqua Teen Hunger Force spin-off under devleopment? It stars the Moonites and the Frat Aliens...at war.

Spacecatraz (in development)

-Need to know EXACTLY what Moltar was looking at in that episode? Want to know the gssip behind which creator said what to whom, and when? Want to start an online romance with a Space Ghost obsessed fanboy? Adult Swim Forums

-Remember that MPEG circulating last year with the schoolkid doing his best Darth Maul moves, complete with his own lightsaber sound effects, which was then doctored up to include real ightsaber FX and sound? Well, how about a homage, Space Ghost style?Hefty Wierdo in Ghostal Costume Workin It

-Your prayers have been answered: various SG and ATHF toys under development! Moonites figures to be paper thin? Toyfair 04 News at Figures.com

-You know there's about 10 different animated clips from the original Space Ghost cartoon recycled for Coast to Coast, but damn if they're hard to find online. Here's screencaps from most of them:ScreenCaps!

-Best ATHF accessory ever: Got Meat? Meatwad T-shirt!

Got Meat?

-Best SG random crap site: Renegade Chickens. Just a sampling of all the goodies here: Original Shockwave Animations, Backgrounds for your SG action figures, SG jigsaw puzzles, SG flip book construction, Sounds and video of SG in SPANISH, SG valentines, SG calenders, screen savers and various images, and more. Yipe! Renegade Chickens Space Ghost tribute Site

-Great animation resource, including images (created around 1980 for an intermediate SG project) of animation reference plates taken from Toth's original 60's Space ghost series. You'll recognize some of those poses!

Prime Cuts


self is: wrongrobot #

TV Review: 24 02/25/04



Another 24 Super-Encapsulation by FoR VicBot:

3:00am

Would Jack break down and kill Nina just for fun? Tony and Michelle don't seem to think so as they ponder such universal truths. Chapelle, on the other hand, seems to think otherwise. As he walks into the random techie room where Nina was axed, Jack is handing his gun to expendable CTU agent 37 and telling him "this is the weapon I used. Take it to ballistics for a match." Huh? Is he so insane now that he is questioning whether he shot Nina? Does he just want to relive the moment? Do we need to involve CSI?

I don't think there is a mystery to be solved here.There have only been maybe 3 lines of dialogue and already things are screwy. So, Chappelle isn't happy that Nina is dead. It seems he never got a chance to get involved with her like everyone else at CTU. A lot of angry questioning of Jack, video surveillance, blah blah blah. "They'll crucify me if I let you go!" This is such an obvious plug for Mel Gibson's new movie, also sponsored by and featuring Ford F-150's. Jack of course claims it was self-defense, that Nina was reaching for her gun, albeit her hand was sliding across the floor at perhaps an inch per hour, and other corses of action could have involved things like picking up the gun or stepping on her hand, or maybe just shooting her once in the arm. Oh well. Kim is looking confused as usual, trying to figure out what happened, and whether Jack really acted in self-defense. She thought she would be happy, but instead unsure of her feelings, obviously because she, like Chappelle, never got a chance with Nina and now it is too late. Regrets. Tony briefs the rest of CTU that Jack killed Nina, and new intel is revealed that virus dispersal devices were stolen from Russia, and could be a possible link.

[Wrongrobot: Don't forget that great line by Chase: 'Don't worry, Jack. I'll stay with her!" as if a) she needs staying-with, being somewhere in her 20s and now a super-IT spy type and gun-wielding in multiple occasions and in general, a professional in the office... and b) like Jack is going to take a deep sigh of relief at that one, given that every 27 minutes he gets aggressive about Chase poking his daughter. Hm...]

In the nightclub, impeccably dressed Amador lets new guy Saunders into their secret hideout. Saunders is to take possession of the virus, which has now multiplied and been placed into several small fragile vials. A demonstration of the Russian vials breakers is given, complete with switches and blinking lights. Amador questions why Saunders is not going after a large target, to which Saunders replies that he at first wants only to send a message. Saunders reveals that he knows about Amador's adventure in Mexico, and chastises him for trusting Jack (who he seems to know, or at least know of), and for putting the mission in danger. He transfers only half the agreed upon money to Amador's account, saying that the rest will be delivered upon successful dispersal of the virus at the hotel.

[Wrongrobot: I continue to marvel at all the really rad ATA Flight cases with custom foam or plastic compartments for holding very specific items. These are great accessories for use with all of the virus sniffers/virus scanners/virus holders/80s virus holders with deceptive millenium-era chrome detailing. I'm sensing a deficiency in my own life, that I have not such wonderful ATA Flight cases of my own.]

Super Chloe, fortunately, had tagged that particular account of Amador's and is notified that a transfer has just taken place. Kim and Adam are now on the case, and use this info to track where the transfer was initiated.
After a touching moment where Chase vouches for Jack's amazingness and his desire to be just like him when he grows up, Chappelle reluctantly lets Jack go and he and Chase head out in their Ford F150. Chloe is eventually able to track the transfer to the nightclub, and Jack, Chase, and a SWAT team head there.

Julia calls Wayne and needs comforting. He tells her again that she can't be calling now, and to not say anything until her lawyer arrives. El Presidente walks in on him and Wayne tries to cover up the fact that he was talking to Julia, saying that they need to distance themselves from Miliken. Wayne confronts Sherry, who finally acknowledges what actually happened, and they get into one of Sherry's 'you know I'm right you'd do the same thing we have to protect David but if you don't do what I say I'll take you all down with me' arguments. As long as the infinitely stable Julia keeps quiet they can cover everything up.

Julia is now being questioned by a detective. Why exactly is a detective involved in the first place. A sick man died of a heart attack. This happens. Detectives do not get involved. Did Julia call 911 and tell them to send an ambulance and a police squad? Well, the detectives notes that the pesky maid heard a car in the driveway, saw a Mercedes driving away, and that for some reason the security system has been deactivated. The upshot of all of this is that Julia cracks and Sherry probably should have just killed her too. The detective eventually calls Sherry and says that Julia told him Sherry was there and prevented Miliken from getting his medicine. Sherry denies it all and claims that the President will confirm she has been with him for the past 5 hours.

After getting the location of the nightclub over the phone, Jack thanks Chase for vouching for him. Chase said he meant it but right now they just need to focus on the virus. They can explore their feelings later. Jack asks if he has talked to Kim about the baby. Chase admits he has, but wants Jack to stay out of it. Jack looks like he could use a hit, and says that right now they just need to focus on the virus.

Alvers arrives at the hotel by taxi with briefcase o'virus, and calls to tell Amador he has arrived and it will take him 25 minutes to get everything set up.

Jack and Chase arrive at the seedy club. The SWAT team already has a man inside who is relaying info back to them. How he got inside without the secret handshake I don't know. He is eventually captured and brought into the room where Amador is now alone. Jack orders everyone in and after explosions, gun fire, battering rams and a quick seedy beer, Amador is captured. Chase takes Amador into another room where the SWAT guys won't bother them, and he and Jack get to work on Amador. Amador won't reveal anything except that "He knows who you are" and that the virus is already gone. jack puts him in a headlock while Chase slices his palm with a knife, and Amador quickly passes out. Jack orders Chase to do it again when he wakes up. The SWAT guys find that Amador's laptop is still there and on, and though most files are encrypted, they are able to pull up the 'complete schematics' in 3D of the hotel. Jack calls Tony and tells him to get a team there right away, but not to evacuate the hotel in case the virus has already been released. He also has CTU cross check all of his contacts on 'both sides' as it appears the new guy knows who Jack is.

Tony contacts the head of Hotel security, tells him of the threat, and faxes a picture of Alvers.

[Wrongrobot: Hey! It's the guy from Melrose Place Season One that shocked the post-teen soap opera audience for being *GAY* in *LA* !!!!]

He tells him to lock all the doors and that no one is allowed to enter or leave the building. The Hotel Guy looks like he wants another job. Chappelle gives Michelle the job of leading the team to the hotel, and in a completely non-touching husband-wife non-moment, Tony tells her to wait for NHS, but neglects the whole 'be careful, I love you, you could die' component. She eventually phones him from the car saying that NHS won't be there for 20 minutes.

[Wrongrobot: wasn't it not 17 hours or so that NHS or some similar such mysterious virus-analyzing agency was On The Case when the puffy body was dropped out front? How could they NOT be on full-alert?!? Are they out having In n' Out with the kid who was, I mean wasn't, infected with the virus in the first place?]

Tony again tells her to wait, and again fails to say anything else. Gael notes her unhappiness, and she reveals that things haven't been right since he had that band-aid put on. Gael tells her that Tony has been stressed by not being able to tell her about Jack's secret mission.

Alvers is seen walking through the lobby dressed as a maintenance worker. Hotel Guy notices and has his expendable assistant check it out. Michelle calls from outside saying that they have arrived but have to wait for HazMat suits. Hotel Guy stares at her through the windows, gulping and
sweating and saying, "My guys don't have HazMat suits." Bummer.



Gael finds an image of Alvers on the hotel security camera and Michelle decides to break protocol and go in. She says she can't order anyone else in, but that she would definitely despise them if they don't follow to their certain doom. Only one guy looks like he has serious heartburn and seems to remain. Upon entering the hotel, Hotel Guy says he saw a maintenance worker he didn't recognize, and Michelle goes after him.. Their best lead and she goes alone. Evidently going alone is CTU protocol. Meanwhile, Alvers has found the giant hotel fan thing and places one of the Russian vial breakers next to it and arms the device. Michelle find Hotel Guy's assistant in a much less alive state than he used to be, and eventually comes across Alvers who tries to pass himself off as maintenance. She corners him, kicks ass, and has him handcuff himself to a pipe. He reveals that he put the virus in the main ventilation unit, and Gael goes to check it out. Somehow, Gael arrives on the other side of the giant whirling fan, complete with wire screen. Now, this has got to mean that at least one of them actually wound up inside the duct system. And Gael being on the side with the mesh would imply he was on the outside. But the air was blowing his way. And there were stairs and corridors leading to Alvers' side.
Ugh. Anyway, he pulls the mesh off, slides his hand between the whirling blades and the edge of the opening, and just as he reaches the device, it goes off, covering him with powder. He does not look happy.

A scheduling note. Fox claims the next episode will air March 30th. What the...? Is this so Kim's new movie can come out? Is this because the college guys who watch to catch glimpses down her blouse will be on Spring Break? Vicbot does not look happy.

self is: wrongrobot #

TV Spotlight: Best Space Ghost: Coast to Coast Ever: Flipmode!


"My god! Wooden eels! Surface! Surface!"

Presented in October on 2001, this episode shook the very foundations of surreal stoner comedy. So wrong it's right! I've watched this episode maybe one million times, and it only gets better. Doesn't hurt that Ghostal nests in a bin of honeydew melons at one point. Here's the script, Scripture as fas ai'm concerned, in it's entirety.

FLIPMODE, starring Busta Rhymes

(Black screen, with caption: "SOMEWHERE IN THE NORTH ATLANTIC", with sonar "ping" sound in background. Fade in to darkened set; Space Ghost is looking out the window.)
Space Ghost (SG): Moltar, what's our depth?
Moltar (M): (reading a book) Twenty thousand leagues, sir.
SG: Take her to twenty-one.
M: Twenty-one?! But, why?
SG: Because it's more fantastical.
(Sound of someone banging on the bulkhead with a pipe)
SG: Don't answer it. It's evil Doctor Reef.
Zorak (Z): I'm answering it.
SG: Don't. If you open that door, we'll drown.
Z: Oh, yeah? Good.
(Zorak punches a big red button on the wall next to his keyboard. A door opens, and a driver-less forklift slowly drives in with a stack of lumber. It lowers the lumber by SG's desk and slowly backs out, complete with "backup" beep sound. There is a long pause, then suddenly, sound of crashing, general mayhem and alarms.)
SG: My god! Wooden eels! Surface! Surface!
(Moltar is in the control room, now with red emergency lighting. He throws his lever, and a Jolly Roger appears on his monitor)
SG: Speed up! No, not that fast! (pile of lumber slides across the stage) Slow down!
M: (throws lever again, a frowning "smiley" appears on his monitor)
SG: I'm blacking out! (his voice echos, as his image becomes a flashing black and white outline, which fades away to be replaced by background of stars)
(Return to lighted set. Zorak is lying on the floor with eyes closed, next to the lumber pile)
SG: Zorak is dead! Murdered! (sound of crashing and mayhem again) Moltar, serve the first course!
M: Aye aye, Cap'n! Cole slaw, comin' up!
SG: The only thing we can do now is eat. And bring out my first suspect.
(Busta Rhymes appears on the studio monitor)
Busta Rhymes (BR): Thank you, Mr. Space Ghost.
SG: Busta, Zorak's skull has been fractured. With what appears to be... (looks at pipe wrench that he is holding)... a wrench.



Z: (wakes up) This dinner mystery sucks.
SG: (jumps up and stomps on Zorak's head) Which was last in my hand. In the veranda. Where I was loosening the gas pipe.
BR: (laughs) I see, Space Ghost.
(Space Ghost and Busta laugh)
SG: Is it possible we surfaced too rapidly?
Z: (stands up, holding a script) Rrreah! That's it. I'm not doing this anymore. This whole thing sucks.
SG: What are you not doing anymore?
Z: This! The whole thing with the sub. We're not underwater. I knew this was a dumbass idea.
BR: Oh, man, you'd better not play that game with me, Zorak could get a nice Jackie Chan chop right in the back of his neck.
SG: Hang on, y'all. (reaches into his cape and pulls out the pipe wrench)
Z: What's that for?
SG: Do not (hits Zorak on the head with the wrench) disturb (hits him again) the judge! (hits him again; each time, Zorak yells "ow!")
BR: Dang!
SG: God, that was violent. I blame... the sea.
BR:You need to give me... a pair of them laser wrist things you be running around the place with.
SG: Why?
BR: I'm gonna use 'em.
SG: For what?
BR: I might use 'em to zap you with 'em.
SG: Okay.
BR: Give 'em to me.
SG: I will.
BR: So let me have it.
SG: I will.
(Moltar walks onto the set carrying a bowl of cole slaw)
M: Where do you want this (SG knocks the bowl to the floor, with a crash) ... Captain?
SG: We're in silent running here.
M: (LAUGHS) Okay, fine.
SG: (shouting) Moltar! We are in silent running! Do you understand the concept of silent running?
M: Eh, you want another one?
SG: (whispering) Silent.
M: Okay, fine.
BR: So what are you giving me such a hard time with giving the lasers?
SG: What are you talking about? Moltar! Make a fire with these eels!
M: Aye aye, Cap'n.
SG: (quietly) But be quiet. We're underwater.
M: No, man, we surfaced.
SG: You handle the salads until you get killed!
M: You told me to surface, so... that's, that's what I did.
SG: (walking back and forth) Now, wood pile, did you or did you not masquerade as eels and shock Zorak with that wrench? Answer me! Now what about these beans?
M: Those must have fallen out of my hair.
(Space Ghost stares back in silence)
M: Well, you're just making all this [BLEEP] up.
(Space Ghost continues staring silently)
M: Oh, what, you're the only one that gets to make [BLEEP] up?
(Space Ghost continues staring silently)
M: (sighes) Those are part of the dinner.
SG: No they're not. They're part of the plot.
M: They were on the menu.
SG: Murder is on the menu. Look, bean prints on the wrench. But what is the wrench for?
M: That's where you were trying to fix the, uh, gas leak, and you made it leak.
SG: Is that where I got all these ideas? 'Cause they're brilliant! Hey! Break all the pipes in the sub for more good ideas!
(Space Ghost breaks three more pipes with his wrench; gas fumes fill the "sub")
SG: Dive! Dive! Suck on the pipes! (klaxons sound)
BR: Space Ghost is definately with it.
(Space Ghost puts his head inside a broken pipe; his voice, and everyone else's, becomes high-pitched)
SG: Hang on, Busta! We're going underwater.
BR: All right, Spacey.
SG: Okay.
BR: You little freaky...
Z: (stands up, groggy) Uhh, ahhh... what happened?
BR: Doing that little funny thing, you'd better watch that, man.
(SPACE GHOST HITS ZORAK FIVE TIMES WITH THE WRENCH)
BR: You don't play no games from the year 2000 and change.
(Space Ghost walks up and hits Zorak three more times)
SG: Look, I pieced it together. (BUSTA LAUGHS) Zorak wasn't dead, but now he is.
BR: Crazy Zorak, man.
SG: And then you showed up.
BR: Yeah, I know man, but, you know, you seem like a cool cat. You need to come and hang out with us so you can learn what that twitchin' is all about.
M: (JUMPS UP ON SG'S DESK) Hey, man, don't stand on the floor. The floor is spoiled. Like milk.
SG: (HIDING BEHIND DESK) This is so weird, isn't it?
(Busta laughs hysterically)
SG: Hey... hey, Busta. Busta?
BR: Yes?
SG: (FROM BEHIND MOLTAR) Remember when I licked the back of Jack's skull?
BR: Jack? Who's Jack? Where... where did Jack come from?
SG: I mean Zorak. Zorak was who I licked. No, wait, no, it was Brak. Ah, nobody cares.
(A second Space Ghost appears behind Moltar, followed by many more)
Space Ghost 2 (SG2): Hey, let's go outside and do the show in the woods.
Space Ghost 1 (SG1): Okay.
(Cut to campfire in the woods)
BR: I just think that this is, this... this, you know, this, the way the events have occured in the last year has been really disasterous for, not just people, but, you know, enertainment and, you know, many other things on the whole, and...
SG: (normal voice) I'm not getting one good idea.
BR: I think that if we don't start...
SG: Let's go back inside where the gas is.
(Cut to set. Busta continues laughing hysterically in the background. Space Ghost takes a deep breath)
SG: Get up, Zorak. (Throws Zorak across set) The gas is giving me an idea. (everyone's voices become high pitched again) Everything I do and say should be recorded by cameras. Do you think that Walt would be interested in that?
M: (high pitched) Uh, Walt Disney's dead.
SG: Who killed Walt Disney? With a wrench?
M: No one.
SG: Walt Disney makes me sweat. Is he gonna sue us?
M: Walt Disney is dead!!
SG: I know! My God, how many times do I have to tell you that? Hey, wood! (beat) We should build something.
(Black screen with caption: "SEVEN HOURS LATER". Cut to set. Two boards are nailed together in an upside-down v shape. An extension cord is taped to one board.)
M: Wow. What's it do?
SG: It's symbolic, Moltar. Things don't always have to do things. Now, help me plug it into the wall.
M: Look, uh, maybe we should just revive Zorak and talk to the guest or something.
SG: What? And just leave the eels here? That's insane.
(Zorak wakes up again)
SG: What happened to you?
Z: I was hit with a wrench.
SG: (hits Zorak with wrench again) We have to get you to the hospital.
(Cut to a rave atmosphere. Psychedelic lights flash in the background, silhouetting Space Ghost, Moltar and Zorak. Spotlights pan across the set. Loud techno music plays)
SG: What kind of hospital is this?
(Three fireballs rise in front of them)
(Cut to Phantom Cruiser)
SG: What kind of a hospital was that?
M: You just missed the turn.
SG: Hold on, watch this.
(Space Ghost steers the ship into a canyon. It bounces and flips end over end before finally crashing to a halt. Cut to view from inside Moltar's visor; we see Space Ghost with flames behind him)
SG: Moltar, talk to me, are you okay?
M: No, ugh, I'm hurt.
SG: Oh, don't worry, I'll fix that.
M: Ugh, I'm passin' out.
SG: We have to get you to the hospital.
(Echo and fade to black. Cut to the produce section of a grocery store. Moltar and Zorak are lying on the floor)
M: Ugh. What's all this? Ugh...
SG: You can pick anything. Pick anything you like.
Z: I need toilet paper.
M: Ugh, I need some flavor ice.
Z: And pudding.
SG: Did you see the lights flicker?
M: (looks) No.
SG: Look at it but don't blink.
Z: (coughs)
M: What are we doing?
SG: Wait, did it just do it again?
Z: I'm gonna go.
SG: It did it again.
Z: Don't follow me.
M: Hang on, I'm going with ya. (hops after Zorak)
SG: Not so fast. Roll call. Moltar.
M: Dead.
SG: Zorak.
Z: Eat me.
SG: Buster. Where's Buster?
(Cut back to rave scene. Busta is still laughing wildly. Cut back to supermarket.)
SG: This seems like as good a time as any to welcome our first new sponsor.
(A second Space Ghost walks in)
SG2: Natural gas.
(A third Space Ghost is hiding behind melons, laughing. A fourth pops up behind the produce section.)
Space Ghost 4 (SG4): It gives you some ideas. (More Space Ghosts appear, including SG in a tennis skirt, from "Joshua". All of the Space Ghosts laugh)
Z: Shut up!
(Cut to set; we are looking at a heating duct)
Z: (sounding far away) Shut up!
SG: Where's Zorak?
M: He crawled into the heating duct.
Z: You snitch!
SG: Why? Turn up the heat.
M: (Pulls lever; ventilation fans spin up)
SG: (staring at duct) Good. (walks over to opening in the duct) Zorak, get out here before I hit you.
Z: No.
SG: Moltar and I are out here doing my damnedest to put on the best talk show possible. And you're balled up in here like a big green tarantula.
Z: I ain't coming out, man.
SG: How'd you fit in here? (beat) Zorak.
Z: I need to be alone.
SG: Did you speak with the orb?
Z: No.
SG: Let me just touch your skin. (pulls out his pipe wrench)
Z: No.
SG: (knocks off the vent cover with the wrench and laughs) But now, it's time for you to come down and make America happy. (flies up into the vent opening)
Z: Just get away!
SG: God, it's hot in here.
Z: Get out of here!
SG: I'm stuck.
Z: Get out!
SG: I'm stuck!
Z: Get out!
SG: Look at me, Zorak, now I'm stuck.
Z: (his eyes peering back from the darkness) Get out of here!
SG: Are you happy?
Z: GET OUT!
SG: Moltar, grab my ankles and pull.
M: (pulls on Space Ghost's ankles) Just let go.
SG: Come on, Moltar. Zorak needs to be alone.
M: You have to let go!
Z: GET OUT!
SG: Come over here.
Z: Back off!
SG: I'm gonna bite your head off.
Z: Get out!
SG: Moltar!
Z: Your boot came off.
SG: Moltar, grab my ankles and pull!
M: I wonder if that's drinkable.
Z: (starts speaking nonsense sounds, then his voice goes into a tight loop)
(Cut to Space Ghost's living room. He and Moltar are watching the show on SG's tiny television screen)
M: This goes on for a while. Like an hour.
SG: But I got out, right?
M: Yeah... but then you got back in.
SG: Did you get the part where I was Space Ghost, a Tribute to Freedom?
M: No, we recorded over that.
SG: What?
M: I mean, I couldn't find it.
SG: (with sanded off face) Then what was the point of sanding my face off?

self is: wrongrobot #

Comic Reviews: Wanted 2



"Wanted may read for some folks like wish fulfilment, and I'm afraid that those people would scare me. We've all wanted to tell the boss to go to hell or to find out that we're secretly someone more important. I like to think, however, that most of us haven't hoped that our alternate life would involve mass murder and casual rape. So far, Wanted reads kind of like the Harry Potter story, except that instead of finding out that he's a boy wizard, Harry finds out that he's a complete bastard. And he likes it."
- Randy Lander's Snap Judgments: The Fourth Rail

Couldn't agree with Randy more. Except, like everything else in this reality, real life exists between polarized extremes of pure good and pure evil (assuming you buy into the idea that those concepts truly exist, but that's a philosophy discussion for another site) and just as some of the characters here float somewhere between the two, so do I think most readers of the book. I'm certainly not scheduling time this morning to fantasize about brutally raping school teachers or whatever. But I also understand why this book, and similar material published elsewhere, is so compelling. It's not a free pass to moral depravity and evil tendancies for the reader. But it does go farther than anything i've read to date to paint the super-criminal culture as a legitimate one: this is a far cry from the Sinister Six dangling girls out of helicopters until the Fantastic Four levitate up in the flying soap car and challenge them to fisticuffs. These are real people engaged in a complex social hierarchy, with motivations, insecurities, desires and a pecking order, experiencing the same issue sof bonding, peer influence, career advancement and relationship-building as the rest of us. The minor difference here is thatthey exist in a world without super-heroes, and these people are the alternative: a well-established organization of super-criminals working in a system where their lifestyle is normal. This isn't significantly different than other fantasy visions of super-societies, from the Legion of Super-Heroes to the X-Men, granted you accept the premise that your moral compass must be set aside for the duration of the read. It's a relative worldview Millar explores here, and it's facinating in it's complexity and surreal normalness. But no, I highly doubt reading this material is going to tempt you to start offing middle management. But I understand Randy's point in his review: it's a book that's going to appeal to a few specific audiences: the teenage rebellious destroy everything fan club, and hopefully another one, that I personally subscrbe to, which enjoys different, morally ambiguous visions of comic archtypes. That said, those readers who have followed Warren Ellis' work from Stormwatch to Authority, and actually got the point, already are accustomed to the exploration of Powers Without Responsibility, and the pratfalss of such concepts. Mark Millar took it a step further in his Authority run, and continued the exploration of how the super-powered paradigm irrevocably changes the dynamic of normal people around them, in Ultimates. Wanted is an extention of this, from the other side of the glass.

I saw JG Jones' promo covers for this series early in the production via CBR or something like that, and was floored. I absolutely loved the covers, and the premise behind the story sounded intriguing. When my local retailer accidentally omitted me from the Wanted No. 1 pre-order list, I had some trpidations about starting the book at No. 2, and admittedly, my first feeling, five or six pages in, was that the story was sort of juvenile wish-fulfillment fantasy, fun I suppose (moreso in a pre-Columbine world as far as the over-reaction to teen violence and it's supposed origins in media) but not yet exhibiting a real point to all of it. Which is fine. But I found myself becoming drawn in, particularly to Wesley Gibson's cynical, severe cataloging of the drollness of his life that enraged him beyond words, yet left him unmotivated to change. This is a characterwith no hope and no ambition, and even less drive to change his circumstances. Such people can find the trigger for their own redefintion from various persuasive elements: religious zealots, cults, fantasy escapism, voueristic obsession with strangers, drug abuse, freak near-death experience, etc. both positive and negative factors on their psyches, which can send them down a different lifepath at the right moment. Removing a good/bad judgment from these paths, the proposal he is presented by the enigmatic Fox is not much different: you may think your life has no meaning, but your wasting a potential life you were unaware of before now. This is the same tantalizing escapism of Neo's early exploration of the Matrix, and it's understandable that Gibson would feel the rush in witnessing not only an avenue of escape from his ife, but the potential for a undamental experiential change in his own reality. It's satisfying to me that his character didn't waffle about the decision, but rather committed to it with a certain release of burden and ran with it. I suspect Millar will be exporing the context of relative value systems within the context of the super-villain machine, but for now, Gibson's indoctrination into the world of super-villain training was facinating to read. The details of his training and practice, with Fox as the guide, come off as plausible and exciting to some extent. It's not n overnight change, and his transformation takes some time. His descent into a morally ambiguous or even villanous mindset was interesting, wathing his slow manipulation at Fox's hands into embracing horrible acts he might have previously been appaled by witnessing, let alone comitting. But the story flow is smooth and clever, and Millar paints Gibson's normal life with such quiet anxiety and despair that it presents a Falling Down style launchpad for the character's snapping point. But unlike inthat film, Gibson commits fully to the change in his behavior and moves on to a new individuality.

The supporting characters are interestingly designed. This rogues gallery is made veen more tantilizing by the idea that the super-hero contingent no longer exists, and these people have formed tribes to deal with each other, not much different from gangs in a turf war. This provides a simple rationalization for the super-villain team concept that used to infuriate me so much as a kid. This is similar to what Bendis has done on ultimate Six (actually, more complexly) in the motivational building blocks that lead to an alliance among selfish individuals towards a common, if unpleasant, goal. I can't even begin to overstate how much I like JG Jones' linework. his panels are clean and readable, his designs are solid, and the expressions and body language expressive. I absolutely adored Marvel Boy, and this is a step up from some of that work. Gibson's ops gear looks sophisticated and streamlined, and his Fox looks just implicitly designed after Halle Berry in a brown leather bodysuit (normally, I'd say that's a problem, but here it works very well). Mister Rictus looks deceptively underwhelming, but I'm guessing there's more to him than meets the eye, a trap Gibson seems hell bent on stumbling into.

If comic readers could be split into two camps: those who worship the archtype of the noble uber-man hero symbol, like Superman, and then those who enjoy seeing that concept subverted, the latter will enjoy the last panel to be sure. If an individual so invinvibly powerful and inspiring, symbolized, like in M Knight Shamalyan's Unbrekable, by the cape meme, can be undone, how impowering must that be for those who feared him? We're finding out in this book.

10/10 Clicks!

self is: wrongrobot #

Most Recent Number One Good Posts:

Comic Review: Avengers 500
X-Men 3, Hulk 2, Underworld 2; Comic News: Dillon on Bullseye; The Real Mastershake plus Beta-Ray Bill Redux
Nick Fury: Agent of SHIELD
Identity Crisis Covers
Watchmen, Superman, Honey Moon, The Ride, Spaceship Down, Transformers, Battle Angel, Rex Steele, Weathercube, Shirow, Megacity909, Aeon Flux, Lance..
Hellboy 2, Iron Man, James Bond
X-Men 3, Superman, Sin City
Comic Preview: Intimates, Iron Man
Plushie Sex Dolls?!?
Biomemetics; Ghost in the Shell 2; TSR Illustrator Terminally ill
Elektra, Fantastic Four
City of Heroes...Rave Parties...
Comic Reviews: Human Target 12, 13; Ex Machina 2, 3
Chindogu- the art of the unuseless idea
IronLung's Bachelor Party
Akira, Twinkie Comics, Avengers Dissembled Toy-style
Film Review: The Punisher
Comic Reviews: Losers 16, Daredevil 65
Interview: Mark Millar of Ultimates
Interview: Cliff Chiang of Human Target
Comic Reviews: Ultra 2; 100 Bullets 52, 53; We3 1
Comic Reviews: Avengers 502, X-Men 159-162, Ultimate Nightmare 2, Pulse 5, Powers 2-4
Star Trek Manga Anthology from Tokyopop
Loch Ness Monster Real? LiveStrong Yellow Bracelets Illegal; John Woo Directing He-Man; Pop Mahn to TokyoPop
MC Escher Models
Film Review: Hero
The Trilobyte
French Connection Made for TV
Rogue in Wolverine spin-off
Star Wars: Battlefront
Granov Iron Man Preview Pages
Elektra Film Poster
City of heroes mass mourning for Reeves
Beatbits: Bill Shatner Sings about Ass Gas, New Monkeys Sing Better
Miami Vice on the Big Screen
Burlyman Comics: Tasty WHA-AT?!?
Image Comics Moves to Berkeley
Batman Begins Photos, Superman Casting
Evangeline Lily as Lois Lane?
Really GOOD Paris Hilton Pics
Superhero Identity Quiz!
Videogame Sex Revolution
Comic Review: Orbiter hardcover
Superman, Girl Gamers, Astroboy on Ninjatune, Beauty Week in China and a Pathetic Bitter Pill Comics Writer
Robots Will Pick Your Nose for You in 2007, Guaranteed
Fantastic Four film news
Iron Man film news
5 Shitty Movies that Everyone Loves
Elektra vs. Typhoid Mary - film news
X-Men Legends on Penny Arcade
CSI: Baghdad!
TV Review: Harvey Birdman Attorney at Law
TV Reviews: Season Premier Roundup, part 1: Returning Shows
Link-of-the-week: Votergasm.com
Monkeylander!
Superman, Fantastic Four movie news
[Latest] Best T-Shirt Ever
Kojak Remake
The Last Starfighter- The Musical
Scientist Grows Brain in Petri Dish, Inserts in Robot Against Advice of Knowing, Imperiled Female Assistant
Batman's Costume in full effect- film news
Meat hats and maggot vats
The Intimates- comic creator interviews
Rolling Stone's Batman spread- film news
Iron Man film news
Isotope Lounge's Election Day Giveaway
Happy Halloween from Wrongrobot
Ben Affleck Bites Geeky Small Cabage-Smelling Hand that Fed Him a Hot Girlfriend
What the? Face/Off?!?
Comic Review: Iron Man 89
Comic Review: Daredevil 66
Comic Review: The Authority: Revolution 1
Is Superman Singer's Secret Subversive Weapon? - film news
Hoi Hoi, Cockaroach Killing Cutey Doll Manga?!
Comic Review: Uncanny X-Men 451
Global Frequency- TV news; Iron Man- film news
Nintendo Threatens Suicidegirls.com over 'Turn-Ons'
Comic Review: X-Men 163
Comic Review: Doctor Spectrum 3
Fantastic Four film news
Comic Review: Ultimate Nightmare 3 3
Star Wars III Mania!
The Late Late Kilborn-less Show
Watchmen film news
NYPD Blue: Officially the Crappiest Show in History
Global Frequency Pilot Dumped- TV news
Let's Fondly Remember Ashlee Simpson Biting It
Crow 4: From Grave to Blockbuster to Grave
Sin City Posters!- film news
Comic Review: Ultra 3
Comic Review: Losers 17
Comic Review: Human Target 15
Willy Wonka in Paradis!
Superman film news
Comic Review: WE3 2
Kids-In-Mind Review: The Limey
TV Review: Ghost in the Shell- Stand Alone Complex
Blast from the Robotic Past: GI JOE!
Global Frequency TV news
Dr. Doom's Concealed Dope! - film news
Darth Vader shills for Target

Wrongrobot's Wrong News Items, Gadgety Goodies, Musical Memes, and other random items:

Chris Cunningham
Asimo Sex Therapy
T-Mobile Int. Cycling
Minidisc Audio Media
FoR: Pac-Collective
Pepsi's Wrong Monkey
Concert Review: Radiohead
Radiohead Art Therapy
FoR: New Beetle Sightings
Moonites' Quad-Laser!
AI on the Web
Mini Cooper Mini Watch
Unusual Sound Gimmickry
Cyber-Monkey!
Radiohead/Sigur Ros Ballet
FoR: DieselSweeties.com
Review: Neuros Audio
Hellboy Figure Preview
FoR: Eclectic Honey
FoR: RobotPirateMonkey
Idoru Taught Us Nothing
Manhunt Offends Kiwis
SF Hailstorm!
Conspiracy Theories
FoR: Kat-bot
Victorian Era Robots
Battle Royale Quiz
FoR: Pipingrad.com
Jack Black Soundboard
NZ's Best Magazine
Vibrating Pillow Alarm
Sunken Volvo Cargo Ship
Pac-Collective's Tycho Video
Wrong Hasseloff
6.5 Quake in San Simeon
Carpool Cheaters
FoR: Twerk
Jim White/ 16 Horsepower Project
Volkswagon Concept T
Sony Leaks Hi-MD
Wrong Asian Phone Commercial
Lovecraft and You
Powermate Input Knob
Chinese broadcast Surround FM
Nitpickers.com
National Security Archive
SpaceHijackers: Architecture
Dr. Frog Plant Moisture Meter
CSI: Miami Drinking Game
Toyota's Robot Plays Trumpet
Monkey+Robot Office Pic
Mini Cooper Robot Hoax
What to Give the Techie that Has Everything
Battlebots, But Better
Robotic Bathroom Assistant: Airyusha Robotan's Toilet Paper Holder
May-Wa Denki Robot Toys Cause Space Madness
SCOTTeVEST Gadgetware Jackets
Thumbprint Recognition HD Device!
Binary Translator
Modern Sign Language
EZ-BAKE-OVEN for PC
Record Albums From Memory Using MS Paint
Satirical Propoganda Posters
Miniature Desktop Siege Engines
Karmann Ghias Tested on Elk in Germany?
The Chillow
Wrongrobot's Wrong Laws
Giant Robot's Robotica
It's All About Lance
Tag & Rename
SpaceShipOne is Rad
SuperSoldier Infants
Radiohead Ringtones
Daring Planet
Star Wars Gangsta Rap
Lego Spider-Man
Pac-Collective's Flicker by Cavelight video
Matt Damon Plays Lance Armstrong in Biopic? 7/29/04
Natasha the Upright Monkey 7/29/04
Giant Robots Threaten San Diego 7/29/04
GoodPlasticSurgery.com 7/29/04
PNCA Illustrator Jam 8/4/04
Pimpin' Blue LED Japanese Watch 8/5/04
Aliens Face-Hugger Plush Toy 8/9/04
Demon Cat Terrorist 8/11/04
Spidey Swim Gear 8/17/04
Real's Apple Nightmare 8/18/04
Frank: Surreal Animation 8/20/04
Chinese Police Tactics 8/24/04
Knit Heroes: Mark Newport Exhibit 8/24/04
Desktop Rover 8/24/04
Cthulhu Garden Sculpture 8/25/04
Green Arrow's Blog 8/25/04
Milla's Totally Flat 8/25/04
Got w00t? 8/25/04
OAFE Custom Figures 8/27/04
CGI Girls in Playboy 8/27/04
Apollo Guidance Computer: Desktop Edition 8/30/04
Headless Hillbilly 8/30/04
Wheelchair Jet Propulsion 8/30/04
Disneyland Run by Satan 8/30/04
Pirate King! 8/31/04
Killer Seizure Robots 8/31/04
Optimus Rhyme 8/31/04
Robots Among Us 8/31/04
iMac 2005 9/1/04
Transformers Paper-Dolls 9/2/04
Transformers Predict 9/11! 9/2/04
Transformers Break it Down 9/3/04
Anti-Terrorist ID Card 9/5/04
Weathercube; Lance!
Plushie Sex Dolls?!?
City of Heroes...Rave Parties...
Chindogu- the art of the unuseless idea
IronLung's Bachelor Party
Twinkie Comics, Avengers Dissembled Toy-style
Loch Ness Monster Real? LiveStrong Yellow Bracelets Illegal
MC Escher Models
The Trilobyte
Star Wars: Battlefront
City of heroes mass mourning for Reeves
Beatbits: Bill Shatner Sings about Ass Gas, New Monkeys Sing Better
Burlyman Comics: Tasty WHA-AT?!?
Really GOOD Paris Hilton Pics

Wrong Comments? (remove the spam-wonker first)

Click to be notified of blog updates via e-mail!

Comments for Wrongrobot!

Comments for Monkeybites!


WRONGROBOT'S SOURCE CODE:

Third Rail Design Lab- Comics and Sequential Art + Cyberpunk RPG resources


San Francisco Bay Area VW Karmann Ghia Sightings moblog

Wrongrobot's Permanently Robotic Links! Comic Illustration Links:
[artistic genius] Masamune Shirow Shrine
Masamune Shirow FAQ and Bio
Masamune Shirow - Art Style
Masamune Shirow Hyperpage

Losstarot: SFTU!

Alphaworks Online: David Tran
36oh.net
+Poisoncage+

Studio Kosen


36Oh.net


Artplaymix.com

Artbyfeng
Itch Studios: Sam Liu
D.O.A.- Carlos Pacheco Art
Itch Studios: PSG version 6.0
Eduardo Risso Website
Inking Artists & Answers
Terra Major: Lord Takeyama
Michael Avon Oeming's Powers Site
MCB
n o w h e r e g i r l .. an online comic
Pop Mahn's Site
The Art of Adi Granov
WildGuard.com
Get Your War On!
The Art of Phil Noto
Michiko!
Comic Art Community
GFXartist.com Member Gallery
Brad Green's Website
deviantART Illustration Community
Elsevilla @ DeviantART
Nati @ DeviantART
-Seed- @ DeviantART
Todd and Craig's Perphanauts
InkSkratch.com
BaldGuyStudios.com
McWolf 105
Diesel Sweeties: Pixelated Web Comic
Penny Arcade
Natalie Dee!
Monkey Box
Words and Pictures Museum
Micro-Heros Animated GIFs

Comic Industry Links

Footnote Comics
ADF The Andy Diggle Forum: The Losers
Isotope Lounge Forum
Newsarama at View Askew
Superhero Hype! - Calling All Heroes
TheFourthRail.com
The Small Press Magazine - News
The Comic Boards
Comicon's Pulse
Comic Book Resources
Comic Book Galaxy
Arthur Magazine
Broken Frontier

Music and Audio Technology Links:

Eclectic Honey

[ electronic ] titles at Aquarius Records
AllMusic.com
Dub.com
Follow Me Around- Radiohead Site
Green Plastic Radiohead
At Ease/ Radiohead
Discogs.com
Epitronic.com
IUMA.com
Mix of the Week
Art of the Mix
UBL's Artist Direct
Radiohead vs Matrix
Play Louder e-zine
TV Commercial Music Database
Dublab.com
Rock Critics.com Top 5 Lists
Lyred Lyrics Database

Minidisc T-Station Forum

Gnod Relative Database
Music Stack
Tycho's Site

Design Links:
Pac-Collective
SpaceHijackers: Architecture

General Links:
Carpool Cheats.org

National Security Archive

Binary Translator

Satirical Propaganda Posters

Eccentric Genius: Miniature Siege Engines

Blogging Friends of Robot Links:
Foxglove

may*star: girl + designsTemplate Root: Maystar Designs maystar designs